Still using Netflix with your friend’s account? Well, not for long. Because Netflix has come up with an excellent (or awful) strategy to fend off users who have been accessing their platform by password sharing, forcing them to purchase a subscription if they intend to continue using their services. Netflix has announced that it will be launching “Netflix Household” very soon, which is expected to combat Password Sharing and hopefully save the company from a rapidly decreasing subscriber base. But what is this Netflix Household? How will it work? How is it going to affect you? And, is it possible to find a loophole in Netflix’s strategy? We’re here to answer all your burning questions.
From “Love Is Sharing A Password” To Battling Password Sharing
When Netflix once tweeted, “Love Is Sharing A Password,” they probably did not have the faintest clue that they’d soon be battling what they were preaching. When the company’s stats revealed a subscriber loss for the first time in over a decade, officials knew drastic steps needed to be taken.
That’s when they decided to introduce “Netflix Household,” a new policy that will be their Ace of Spades in battling Password Sharing.
“Your Netflix account is for you and the people you live with—your household”
Netflix has previously stated how almost 100 million people around the world are using Netflix’s services without purchasing a subscription. That obviously meant huge losses for the OTT Giant.
For those who have already purchased a subscription, the officials clarified that only your inner circle- your household- should have the right to use Netflix by sharing the password with your family and roommates.
What Is Netflix Household?
Coming to the main issue here, what actually is Netflix’s new move? How is Netflix’s new policy going to affect you? What changes does Netflix Household bring to your life?
Netflix Household will only enable only those people to access your Netflix account who are on the same Wifi network as you. For additional users, you’ll need to pay an extra fee per user.
What Can Users Do?
For Standard Members paying $15.49 a month, one extra user is allowed for an additional cost of $7.99 a month, while for the Premium Members, two extra members are allowed at the same price.
However, the additional user would be unable to create new profiles. Although they will have a ‘separate’ account, their account would be paid for by the user sponsoring them on their account.
Can You Get Around This New Rule?
For now, Netflix has decided to keep this new policy only for households that stream shows on Netflix via television. This means mobile, laptop, and tablet users are safe (for the time being, at least!).
However, we’re pretty sure Netflix is going to come up with a strategy that tackles this issue as well. So it’s best to spend a little money and get an account before you lose out on your shows.